Literary Day

This morning I did three storytelling shows for The Moth at a Bronx High School. When I got there I found out that the students were actually having some kind of big literary day. My first story presentation followed a reading and Q&A session with Junot Diaz, author of a book everyone has been telling me to read but which I still have not gotten to, The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao.

It was pretty cool getting to listen to a Pulitzer Prize winner give advice to a roomful of students who are similar to what I was like when I was their age.

I really need to read this book. I’ve been meaning to for a while, but now I just feel like a jerk about it. Is it as good as everyone keeps telling me it is?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Literary Day

  1. Weird. I was at a Polish restaurant in Greenpoint yesterday with a friend and this lady sitting next to us had a copy of it. My friend went ON about the book with this lady. I’ve even gone to two of his book readings for this project. Still haven’t picked up the book. Either this is good viral marketing, or the universe is trying to tell me something.

Leave a Reply

