Don’t Do It

I was on the downtown 6 train the other day, sitting at 28th street waiting for the doors to close when I noticed two teenagers on the opposite platform. They weren’t where anyone else on the uptown platform could see them; they had gone beyond the open public area and around a column. It was a small 4 foot long area where MTA workers can find the stairs leading into the tunnel.

The boy had his back to my train and the girl was mostly facing my direction but tilted slightly to one side. At first glance, it looked like they might be making out, and then I saw the boys arm pumping at his side. I saw that the boy was shaking his head no, he wasn’t angry and he didn’t look like he was answering a question. He looked a bit dismissive. The girls eyes were darting everywhere. She never looked at me, and my direct view of them makes it hard to believe that they couldn’t see me or the train car I was in but she did look like she could see the other train cars behind mine. She also looked embarrassed.

The doors on my train started to close and the boy shifted to his left revealing that his arm was still pumping. As my train began to move I caught one last glimpse of the girl’s nervous eyes as her head started to move down and she got on her knees. Without realizing it, I sat up tall. I heard my own voice say “don’t do it.”

And with that I was in the tunnel on my way to the next stop, 23rd street.

I don’t know if that girl minded the act, but it was clear that she at least minded the location. It made me sad. She looked so uncomfortable, and he looked too comfortable.

Teenagers, not just teenage girls, but teenagers put themselves into so many situations that they don’t feel good about because they’re afraid people won’t like them otherwise. It’s awful sometimes.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

