30 Day Challenge: Day 2

Day 2: “Where you’d like to be in 10 years”

They say that setting goals is a good motivator. I like the idea, but I always find it hard to think about where I’d like to be down the road. My life, short as it has been so far, has taken me to places unexpected. Most of those have been way better than the places I thought I wanted to go in the first place.

So I’ll keep my hopes a little vague.

In ten years…

I hope to have a dog. I’ve never had one before but I’ve always wanted one. In college I had a picture up in my dorm room of a dog that I called “the dog l’ll have in the future.”

One of my biggest (and smallest?) dreams in life is to have a grill. I’m obsessed with grilling and barbecuing and I never get to do it. I’ve always lived in apartments, never houses, nor have I ever had access to a yard. When I go to barbecues I hover near the grill, volunteering myself for duty. I’d like to be a grill master, but I don’t want to go to competitions or anything. Well, I’d like to go as a visitor and eat everything, but I have no desire to compete.

Hopefully I will have run a couple of marathons by then. Maybe even have done an Ironman. I still need to learn to swim and get better at bike riding (I only learned this year) so I realize it is quite the goal, but for the first time in my life it actually seems like a possibility, which is weird in and of itself.

I’d love a Yankees partial season ticket plan. I had one in college so the thing holding me back from this is consistent work. I haven’t had the cash on hand the last few times they became available.

Then there is obvious stuff: I want to make my living off of my creativity and not be in a soul sucking job that I hate. I’d like to be married to my guy and have started a small family. I’d like to be healthy and not stressed out. I’d like to travel and see more of the world. I want to spend more time with my family and help my little sister navigate her teen years as best I can.

Ultimately, I hope to be less of an asshole.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

