30 Day Challenge: Day 9

30 Day Challenge: Day 9

Day 9: “How you hope your future will be like”

I’m going to start by  acknowledging the weird phrasing  for today’s challenge. Now that  we’ve done that, let’s move on.  I was thinking of this earlier this  year. One thinks of what they’d  like their future to be like fairly  often, but I mean that I tried to sit  down and think objectively about  what I truly wanted. Was it a  specific job? Or was it that a career  would give me certain things?

Granted, I don’t know what the  day to day is like for some things. I think that is really important to think about. I meet so many people who say they want to do certain things, but don’t seem to know how they would actually spend their days if they were able to do said thing. For example, if you want to be an actor, you’d better be okay with auditioning.

Here is what I came up with: I never ever want to stop learning. I’m too curious of a person. I’d get bored if I had to do something with my time that prevented me from learning and experiencing new things.

Travel is extremely important to me, otherwise I start feeling trapped and I resent it. I’m so interested in other cultures and there are things in this world I have decided I must see before my days are over.

I’d like to pay off my student loans and live in a place with enough space for the grill I keep talking about. I’d also like to live someplace with a staircase because where my guy grew up, most homes are one story and it’s a little thing we’d both love. I want a home that seems warm; someplace that looks like you’d like to read there.

One of the things I love about storytelling is that so many different kinds of people do it. The outreach workshops I do with the Moth are a very satisfying part of my week. Outreach to younger people is something I’ll always be interested in, but I don’t want to make a career out of it. I enjoy talking with the students about my other experiences. I’ve always wanted to adopt older kids. Once I’m a little older and maybe have one or two of my own, I’d like to provide a home for someone who would end up without a support system otherwise.

I’m working on it.

*The northern lights are on my “must see before it’s over” list. Thus the picture.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

