30 Day Challenge: Day 11

Day 11: “Put your iPod on shuffle and write 10 songs that come up”

1. Blur – Girls & Boys

I love this song. No need to explain that Blur is awesome. Also reminds me of Annie M-R who once put this on a mix cd for me.

2The Bird and the Bee – La la La

They used to play this song at the Apple Store a lot when I worked there. I couldn’t make out much of it, other than the light, airy, almost enchanted chorus. Since I couldn’t make out specifics I made up my own lyrics to keep me sane on the sales floor:

Bananas

They’re tasty and they’re good.

Bananas

You eat them like you should.

Bananas

Just put them in your face.

I’m actually allergic to bananas.

3Madonna – What It Feels Like For A Girl

I’m an unabashed Madonna fan, and this is one of my favorites of her later songs.

4. Violent Femmes – I Held Her In My Arms

They were the first concert I ever went to alone. I was 17. This is one of my favorites of theirs. Also reminds me of going to Don Hill’s when I was underage and dancing to 80’s rock.

5. John Lennon – Working Class Hero

The man himself. It’s an appropriate week for John Lennon to come up. I love most of his solo stuff. I also just find it interesting when people who have achieved the kinds of things he did reflect on where they come from.

6. The B-52’s – Rock Lobster

Funny that this should come up after Lennon, since he apparently heard this song and then told Yoko he thought it’s success meant people were ready for her music.

7. Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers – Lonesome Sundown

This is off the album Echo, which Tom Petty released in 1999. I’m a big fan of this album. It just found it’s way into my collection and never left. I often pull it out for road trips.

8. Tripping Daisy – Geeareohdoubleyou

I loved this band in high school. They had that song “I Got A Girl,” but this is from the album they released afterwards: Jesus Hits Like The Atom Bomb.

9. Beyonce – Crazy in Love

Hands down, one of the greatest pop hits of all time. Those horns will have asses shaking forever. It was the definition of summer-jam in 2003, which was a very memorable year for me.

10. Wu Tang Clan – Wu Tang Clan Aint Nothing To Fuck With

Duh.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

