30 Day Challenge: Day 18

Day 18: “Your beliefs”

Gah! My beliefs? What a broad topic!

This is like when you get a writing assignment in school where you can write whatever you want and it is both awesome and overwhelming. Here is something random that I believe that has served me well:

I believe rolling luggage is evil. I hate it. If you ever ask me to help you with it, I will go out of my way to pick it up and carry it. I don’t do it to be stubborn, but because it goes against everything I’ve ever learned makes things easier. Going around taking up twice the width I need when I am walking is crazy to me. It makes me feel gross.

I’m a native New Yorker. For me, walking is the way to get around and I treat the sidewalks and stairs with the same rules I do the freeway (keep right and pass left, merge when necessary, pull over if you need to look at something, NEVER stop short for no reason). So when I see people with rolling luggage on the sidewalk, they might as well be a car that is taking up two lanes of road and is now LOOKING AT A CELL PHONE.

When I walk around with friends I actually say things like, “let’s pull over” if I need everyone to stop and assess. I make them move all the way to the right and against a wall, if possible. It’s a city of eight million people. As far as I’m concerned, the least I can do is not be in the way.

I’ve always maintained that New Yorkers aren’t rude, they’re just in a hurry. With so many people around you have to prioritize. You can’t look everywhere or talk to everyone or you’d be late for work everyday. Then you’d get fired. Plus I generally find the so-called politeness of talking to everyone to be fairly rude. It intrudes too much. You never know when someone is having a bad day, or going through something. They might not have the energy to put on a brave face so you can talk about the weather. I love the daily greetings my neighbors and I exchange, but last week a southern lady was trying to start a full-on conversation and all I could think was “we’re fine, we already know how much conversation we want, thanks.”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

