30 Day Challenge: Day 20

Day 20: “How important you think education is”

Education is very important to me, and not just a formal one. I’m a very curious person. I want to look up information on everything. I get lost in bookstores amongst the non-fiction section and I still take way too many books out of the library. Educating yourself opens all kinds of possibilities, and you really start to see how many things are connected.

Right now I am in the process of applying to graduate school. I’ve always been interested in getting a masters and ultimately a PhD. I’d like to teach to some degree one day, but I also know that I don’t want to be a day to day teacher. I feel like my life experience has been just as valuable, but only because it has worked in tandem with my constantly educating myself. For example, I coach high school students in storytelling and I love doing it. But when I look around at them, and think of the best conversations I have had with them, I can see where my strengths come from. Besides the way I feel about writing and performing, I wouldn’t want to be a teacher every day because then that is what I would be doing and I wouldn’t have as many other experiences to pull from when dealing with the kids.

Me, on the left with rare straight hair, and my 3 closest friends from NYU, at graduation some years ago.

We lie in a time when what you’re doing now isn’t likely to be what  you’re doing fifteen years from now. There is little job security and  technology shifts so rapidly that even if you work in the same field,  people don’t just move up anymore, they often change the angle from  which they work in said field. A good education makes it possible to  be flexible, to bring together the old and the new.

It’s also important to find the right type of education for you. People  can learn in many different ways. That is one of the reasons I am  excited about the idea of grad school. When I was in college, I wanted  to be in college but I didn’t quite know what I needed and I was too young and inexperienced to really ask for help. When I did ask for help, I wasn’t sure what I was asking for. Now when I think of going to school I know what I want out of it. Knowing yourself is key. Educate yourself about that as well.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

